top of page

Man Of A Million Faces


Robert Porcelain - A New Jersey make-up artist that has been making his mark in the entertainment industry for several years now. He’s broken many boundaries to become one of the industry’s elite make-up gurus. Mr. Porcelain has dolled up some of the hottest faces in the music game, giving him a portfolio of success. Make-up is no easy task, and putting it on someone else is even harder. Robert has mastered this amazing skill with years of hard work and dedication, which is why he’s one of the best in the business.

January 2014 Robert will be releasing his newly designed portfolio and website. Don’t think he is one-dimensional either; He has a “regular” gig as a part of an all male glam squad servicing all of the hottest strip clubs in NJ and NY as well as a makeup studio in Jersey City. Robert and Terrence Davidson - formerly Nicki Minaj’s hairstylist, are working on developing a wig and weave collection called "Just My Colour" launching September 17th, 2013. (You can check out Justmycolour.me for the hairline). Robert is also in the process of developing an eyelash line as well. His long-term goal: Looking to be a personal makeup artist to a female artist or actress.

NuCentz Magazine sit down with Robert to get the inside scoop, Here’s what Robert had to say:

NuCentz: When did you discover that you had the passion for doing make-up? And what steps did you take you fulfill your dream job?

Robert Porcelain: I grew up in a household of 5 females and I was the only boy so I was bound to pick up a thing or two about hair and makeup. I started experimenting in high school at the age of 16 on myself. Hair was like a science project but makeup came second nature. I studied YouTube videos and started to duplicate looks. From there I started adding my own touches to make those looks my own. I never worked for a cosmetic company like (Mac, Sephora or Inglot) I pretty much-dived head first into the industry by test shooting with photographers off Model Mayhem. I than began to post ads and respond to ads on Craigslist that kept me busy.

NuCentz: As for make-up, there are many different looks, colors and types of make-up that can be used. What makes your work stand out amongst the rest? What makes you the best at what you do?

Robert Porcelain: I turn my clients into dolls. That’s why I go by the alias Porcelain. I focus on flawless foundation, perfect brows and I'm obsessed with lashes. I wouldn't say I'm the best but as an artist we all have something unique to offer.

NuCentz: We’ve notice that your client list includes several A-list celebrities, which one was the most exciting to work with and why?

Robert Porcelain: I have worked with a lot of celebrities I'm blessed to be able to work with clients I grew up watching on TV such as Salt & Pepper, Ashanti, Russell Simmons, Jadakiss, Lil Kim, Somaya Reece and EVE just to name a few. But my most exciting clients are the video vixens, exotic dancers and adult entertainers. There is never a dull moment with these ladies. I could have my own reality show with the things I get to see and experience that most guys never will. I’ve had some of the hottest females sit in my makeup chair naked, at first it was a little uncomfortable but now I'm used to it. I get told often I have the best job in the world.

NuCentz: As a successful make-up artist, what advice would you give other inspiring artists just starting out?

Robert Porcelain: Never give up is the best advice that I can offer aspiring artists. I've been talked about and slandered by older artists whose careers haven't been as fast paced as mine. Some people have told me that I’ll never make it in this industry. When I first started doing makeup I applied to several makeup counters and was never hired. These things can easily discourage someone, but I kept pushing. These ordeals made me a stronger artist. I walk past makeup counters today and thank God for allowing me to be an artist and not a salesperson. I don't knock them either we all have to start somewhere but God put me on this journey for a reason.

NuCentz: We understand you complete looks for the red carpet events & monster mask, which do you prefer to work on?

Robert Porcelain: I honestly prefer beauty then doing special FX. Special FX is very messy and time consuming. There is so much work put into creating these pieces. I have worked on several movie sets and haunted houses doing special FX, which has been some of my most stressful gigs!

NuCentz: Have you heard of the reality TV show Face Off? Would you consider auditioning for the show?

Robert Porcelain: I have heard of the show and do enjoy watching it. I would rather leave the show to those who have the passion for that genre of makeup. My passion is beauty so I’ll stick to that. The only time I focus on special FX is during Halloween!

NuCentz: What are some of the trending make-up styles of today’s celebs’?

Robert Porcelain: Most of my clients like clean and natural makeup application. That's my biggest request; I’m seeing a lot of different and bold lip colors. Kaior and a few other cosmetic companies have introduced unusual shades of lipsticks. Contouring and highlighting is very big now as well. Most of my clients love a nice contour and a bronzed finish.

NuCentz: Name some of your favorite Make-up Stylist’s in the entertainment industry. How they have inspired you to keep pushing the limits to create beautiful faces?

Robert Porcelain: Bentley Taylor, Marcus Miller, Donovan Lamar, Japan, and Day Hill. It's so many make-up artist that I'm inspired by. All of these individuals are extremely talented; they all offer something different to the industry. I have been watching them and picking up different techniques from them over the years.

bottom of page