top of page

Accessories You Can Chew

Whether it is anxiety, autism, oral motor, or ADHD we tend to have habits, in which we chew on something. Whether it be our nails or lips, especially with anxiety we have this habit, for instance I have anxiety in which I constantly am biting off my nails or messing with my fingers when I have an anxiety attack or am just feeling anxious. It is a constant habit and my mom always tried to help me stop messing with my fingers and find other ways to help me calm down. Her and I looked, in which we came upon a product known as the chew necklace for sensory, oral motor, anxiety, Austin, or ADHD in which the amulet part on the string is made of 100 percent silicone which you can chew on. I have obtained one of these chewy necklaces as well as we have gotten one for my niece in which she puts her fingers in her mouth often and to help her stop we bought one for her as well. When the urge to put her fingers in her mouth comes she instead uses the necklace and chews on it. The necklace comes in different colors and different shapes you can get one shaped as a shark tooth or there are other types of chewy objects besides the necklace. You can find such products on Amazon or anywhere else online. Here are some features of the product from Amazon : Safe and discreet, for the need to chew! Amazon is one of the places you can find such a necklace or at funandfunction.com. ( https://funandfunction.com/solutions-center/biting.html)

http://www.specialneedstoys.com/uk/sensory/sensory-chew-toys/

  • Made from 100% silicone.

  • Lead, latex, BPA, PVC and phthalate free.

  • Adjustable length cord with break-away clasp for safety.

  • Clasp is not intended for chewing, as it contains small parts and may be a choking hazard.

bottom of page