top of page

A Man and His Dream Come True


Life is full of obstacles, hard times, and failures. However, with every obstacle, hard time, and failure we have the choice to continue and get back up again. Although, it is not easy getting back up again after being down it is a journey we will all face one day. But, today the man to have faced struggles and failure has stood up again and is taking his life into his own hands. This man I am speaking about is Darrell Alston. He is the creator and artist behind the brand line Bungee Raiment.

Darrell Alston, was a high school star football player with scholarships awaiting him, but as life has a way of not going as planned Mr. Alston followed a different path. This path led him to a prison sentence of six years. However, amongst his time in prison or his time knocked down Darrell with his fears and all decided to get back up again. He did not let his future or dreams go. Despite his struggles he has and would face he worked hard to plan and create a better future for himself. In doing so he became a light for those facing similar struggles or just facing any struggles in general.

Therefore, let us take a deeper look at Darrell Alston and his hard work. Darrell Alston took time out of his busy schedule to answer some questions that I had for him. Although, we may not know everything about him from these questions we will have the opportunity to know him and his business Bungee Raiment better than we already do.

1) Being that society makes the chances of creating a life outside of jail difficult, how difficult would you say achieving this goal of creating a business was?

Creating this business after being incarcerated was EXTREMELY difficult. The main reason for the success of Bungee Raiment is because I was warned by my mom while I was incarcerated that it will be nearly impossible to get a job when I got home. So I had a few years to prepare for the business. I did research and made plans prior to getting out. By doing the right thing I was blessed to meet an investor that believed in me and the business.

2) Have you thought about ways to help others in your shoes, for example giving opportunities to those in jail or about to be released by creating jobs that they can do?

Absolutely! That’s my main goal. To give people jobs that we all can be proud of. That’s why support from people is so important. There’s so many inmates or people in general that have talent, but may either not know how to get a job at a big company or can’t get a job at a big company because of their background. We all, (former inmates) get punished more than just a jail sentence. We get punished for the rest of our lives. This business is my only way to survive and I WILL make it possible for others as well.

3) Did the negative events in your life hinder your progress or would you say they were blessings in disguise?

If you would’ve asked me this question a few years ago I’d say it hurt me, but my past has been the reason Bungee Raiment has been so successful. People are intrigued with the whole story and how it was possible to create something this big in prison. As much as I hated prison it has been a blessing. It made me who I am today.

4) Is there a significance behind the name of your brand? How did the name for your brand come to be?

Originally Bungee was created for a rock/rap group named Bungee. But during the creative process I was arrested and taken away to prison. When I came home the group was no longer together, but I continued to push the name. As of now my reasoning for keeping the name was because it was me jumping out of my old life and bouncing into my NEW life. Also, Bungee jumping is a dangerous sport. U have to be dangerous and bold to try something NEW, which is Bungee Raiment sneakers and apparel.

5) Bungee is a brand that sells clothes and shoes, but are you considering expanding the Bungee brand further?

What about a line of perfume and cologne? No line for perfume or cologne, but we do have belts, and working on glasses and watches.

6) Today you are a successful business owner and entrepreneur. When you were a child what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a rap star. I got my first official record deal when I was 14. I had about 5 different record deals in my career. Lost the major ones because of my troubles with the law. Or I was gonna chase the NFL because I was very good at football. As a kid all I did was rap and play football. So for me it was gonna be an Artist or a ball player. Designing sneakers and clothes was NEVER my goal, but it’s definitely been a blessing in disguise.

Overall, Darrell Alston and his brand Bungee Raiment tells a story we can all relate to; that failure can lead to new opportunities. Because, although we may face dark times it does not mean we have to give up. Darrell Alston can serve as a beacon of light to us all. Especially, those in jail or being released back into society, because society makes it difficult to get a job or create a life for oneself Darrell shows it may be difficult, but it is not impossible. Bungee is a great brand that Darrell has created and is just off to an amazing start. Here is a look at some of the shoes and clothes they carry:

Bungee carries sneakers such as these Rockstar Red on Black Sneaks. Which can be found and purchased here: http://bungeeofficial.com/product/rockstar-red-on-black-sneaks/

Shoes

Another pair that Bungee Rai has and goes great with any outfit are these A0 Greys. They can be found and purchased here: http://bungeeofficial.com/product/a0-greys/

If you would like something with a brighter color Bungee Raiment has these BG:210 Limited Edition sneakers: http://bungeeofficial.com/product/bg210-limited-edition/

As for clothes on bungeeoffical.com they have this gold on black Lion Crest t-shirt. It can be purchased here: http://bungeeofficial.com/product/lion-crest/

If gold on black is not a color your interested in. Bungee Raiment has this Our Nation Limited red with white t-shirt and it can be purchased here: http://bungeeofficial.com/product/our-nation-limited/

They have t-shirts, long sleeve shirts, and hoodies. But that is not all Bungee Raiment has. They have various products that everyone would love. Especially, there is this Bungee Flight Jacket. It is sure to keep anyone warm. It can be found here on the Facebook page of Darrell Alston:

https://www.facebook.com/fourth.quarter.77?hc_ref=ARTrb9NRzaO0YYR_XleGHrHisce4CDYWaKTwqnwNgk8pq4i6zruezu11lGlz-5CClf8

All photos are from and belong to bungeeoffical.com and the Facebook page of Darrell Alston.

bottom of page